You are here

General Information

Referees In Alberta

The Volleyball Alberta Officials (VAO) is an organization of all registered volleyball referees in the province of Alberta.  It is the recognized provincial body for volleyball referees within Alberta and works closely with Volleyball Alberta (VA), a registered society under the laws of the province of Alberta.

The administrative head of the VAO is the President.  The President represents all Alberta referees at the provincial level, while the Regional Officials Chairperson (ROC) represents all level 3, 4 and 5 referees at the Volleyball Canada (VC) level.  The ROC is designated as the head referee for the province of Alberta.

For the purposes of volleyball refereeing, the province of Alberta is divided into nine zones.  These zone boundaries are set by the VAO.  Within each zone, a chairperson is elected to represent that region on a provincial level.

Provincial Divisions

Zone Area Name Position Contact Information
All Alberta Jim Merrick Regional Chair
All Alberta Stephanie Shostak President
1 Lethbridge & Area Karl Hiebert Zone 1 Chair
2 Region Surrounding Calgary Vacant Zone 2 Chair Currently Vacant
3 Calgary Glenn Johnston Zone 3 Chair
4 Red Deer &  Area Tim McLenahan Zone 4 Chair
5 Medicine Hat & Area Lyle Woodward Zone 5 Chair
6 Edmonton & Area Dean Kent Zone 6 Chair
7 Northeast Don Shepert Zone 7 Chair
8 Northwest Pam Rintoul Zone 8 Chair
9 Fort McMurray Kim Boehme Zone 9 Chair
Beach Alberta Shawn Shepherd Beach Officials Chair
All Alberta Ryan Bunyan Volleyball AB Liaison

Executive Meeting Minutes

Spring 2016
Winter 2016

Referee Development

Within Alberta, the responsibility for training and development of referees is managed by the Volleyball Alberta Referees Commission.  For more information regarding upcoming clinics in your area, please contact the local Zone Chair or Development Coordinator.  

Upcoming Referee Clinics

Please note all 2016-17 development clinics have been completed.  Clinic information for the 2017-18 season of play will be posted as the zones make it available to Volleyball Alberta.

Zone 1 (Lethbridge)

For information on future clinics: Please contact Karl Hiebert at

Zone 2 and 3 (Calgary and area)

For information on future clinics: please contact Jenna Nichol or Everette Dionne at

Zone 4 (Red Deer and Central)

For information on future clinics: please contact Travis Rott at

Zone 5 (Medicine Hat)

For information on future clinics: please contact Lyle Woodward at

Zone 6 (Edmonton and area)

For information on future clinics: please contact

Zone 7 (North East)

For information on future clinics: please contact Don Shepert at

Zone 8 (Grande Prairie)

For information on future clinics: please contact Pam Rintoul at

Zone 9 (Fort McMurray)

For information on future clinics: please contact Kim Boehme at

Beach (Alberta)

For information on Beach officiating: please contact Shawn Shepherd