You are here

Contact Us

Professional Staff

The professional staff, in consultation with the Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors, conducts the affairs of the organization and deliver its programs and services to the membership and the volleyball community. Please contact us directly to answer any of your questions. We have offices in Edmonton and Calgary. 

Edmonton Office- 11759 Groat Road, T5M 3K6

(Fax: 780-415-1700, email: info@volleyballalberta.ca)
Name Title  Areas of Responsibility Telephone Email
Julie Noel Office Administrator Online Registration (VRS), Accounts Payable/Receivable, Calgary Facility Bookings, Casino, Inventory & Store, Awards and Banquets, General Inquiries 

780-
415-1703

ext. 1

info@volleyballalberta.ca
Ryan Bunyan Program Director Officials (Administration, Development, Recruitment & Retention)

780-
415-1703

ext. 3

rbunyan@volleyballalberta.ca
Derek Hemsley Program Director 13U/14U Age Class, Adult & Masters Age Class, Alberta Winter Games, Summer Camps, Online Registration (VRS)

780-
415-1703

ext. 4

dhemsley@volleyballalberta.ca
Kiruthika Rathanaswami Program Director Early Stages Program Director (Mini, Atomic), Saville GO sports programs/camps, School Clinics, Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Leagues, Marketing, Media, & Sponsorship 

780-
415-1703

ext. 5

krath@volleyballalberta.ca
Jim Plakas Technical Director Coaching (NCCP & CBET), Long Term Athlete Development, Western & Canada Summer Games, Technical Advisor for all programs

780-
415-1703

ext. 2

jplakas@volleyballalberta.ca
Summer Staff
 
Andre Arsenault 
Danielle Cormier
 
JVC & SLVC
 
Camp Director 
Assistant
Camp Director

Jasper Volleyball Camp & Sylvan Lake Volleyball Camp
May-August (only)

Office
780-415-1730

On-Site Cell 780-237-0293

camps@volleyballalberta.ca 
Summer Staff
Rachel Gulley
Beach League Coordinator May-August (Only)
 
780-237-0294 beachleagues@volleyballalberta.ca
Summer Staff
Rebecca Rubuliak
GO Camps Coordinator
 
June-August (Only)
Early Stages Summer Camps (Multisport)

780-415-1719

On-Site Cell 
780-953-6787

camps2@volleyballalberta.ca

Calgary Office- Unit #6, 135 Commercial Drive, Calgary AB, T3Z 2A7 

(email: info@volleyballalberta.ca)
Name Title  Areas of Responsibility Telephone Email
Ray Sewell Program Director 16U Canadian West Open, 15U & 16U Age Class, Beach, Team AB Beach, AB Summer Games, Sitting Volleyball Development 403-
202-6541
rsewell@volleyballalberta.ca
Diane Bugler Program Director 17U/18U Age Class, Indoor Provincial Team/Elite Development 403-
202-6540
dbugler@volleyballalberta.ca
  Marketing & Communications Marketing, Media, & Sponsorship   media@volleyballalberta.ca
Kaila Blakeman Beach Tournament Coordinator May - August only 

403-850-1468

beach@volleyballalberta.ca

Executive Director 

Name Location Areas of Responsibility Telephone Email
Terry Gagnon Red Deer Leadership, Finances, & Facility Development 587-273-1513 tgagnon@volleyballalberta.ca

Volleyball Alberta Committees

Committee Committee Chair Email Address
Athlete Development Leigh Goldie lgoldie@gprc.ab.ca
Business Development Terry Gagnon tgagnon@volleyballalberta.ca
High Performance Ken Briggs briggsk3@macewan.ca
Leadership Jeff Anderson jeffanderson@cesd73.ca
Nominations/Awards/History Dave Johnson johnson.d0404@gmail.com

Are you interested in helping guide the future of volleyball in Alberta?  Do you have experience and skills to help develop programs, policy and governance for Volleyball Alberta? Volleyball Alberta is always looking for passionate people who want to help guide and build the future of volleyball in Alberta.

If you are interested or have experience in any of these areas please fill out the Committee member application form and send it in to Volleyball Alberta at info@volleyballalberta.ca.

Committee Member Application Form Link: Online Fillable Form

Printable Committee Member Application Form

 


Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors (2017-2018)

Executive
President Leigh Goldie lgoldie@gprc.ab.ca
Vice-President Ken Briggs briggsk3@macewan.ca
Secretary/Treasurer Dave Johnson johnson.d0404@gmail.com
Director at Large Jeff Anderson jeffanderson@cesd73.ca
Director at Large Christine Smyth christinebiggs15@gmail.com
Board of Directors
Officials' Representative Jim Merrick roc@volleyballalberta.ca 
Officials' Representative Stephanie Shostak vaopresident@volleyballalberta.ca
Director Jonathan Goldie jonathanmgoldie@gmail.com
Director  Michelle Whyte mwhyte@stalbert.ca
Director Raynell Prince ray.lavertu@gmail.com
Director Travis Rott travis@rott.ca
Director Aaron Heinemann aaron.heinemann@blackgold.ca
CIS/CCAA Representative (non-voting) Vacant  
ASAA Representative (non-voting) Vacant