You are here

Contact Us

Professional Staff

The professional staff, in consultation with the Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors, conducts the affairs of the organization and deliver its programs and services to the membership and the volleyball community. Please contact us directly to answer any of your questions. We have offices in Edmonton and Calgary. 

Edmonton Office- 11759 Groat Road, Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6

(Fax: 780-415-1700, email:
Name Title  Areas of Responsibility Telephone Email
Julie Noel Office Administrator Online Registration (VRS), Accounts Payable/Receivable, Indoor Premiers and Provincials Facility Bookings, Insurance, Letters of Good Standing, Casino, Awards and Banquets, General Inquiries 


ext. 1

Out of office: July 6-15, 2019

Vacant Program Manager Referees (Administration, Development, Recruitment & Retention), AB Summer & Winter Games


ext. 3

Derek Hemsley Program Manager 13U/14U Age Class, 17U/18U Age Class, Summer Camps, Online Registration (VRS)


ext. 4
Kiruthika Rathanaswami Program Manager Early Stages Programs (Mini, Atomic), Saville GO sports programs/camps, School Clinics, Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Leagues, Content Marketing, & Sponsorship 


ext. 5
Jim Plakas Technical Director Coaching (NCCP & CBET), Long Term Athlete Development, Western & Canada Summer Games, Technical Advisor for all programs


ext. 2

Jasper Volleyball Camp & Sylvan Lake Volleyball Camp
May-August (only)

T 780-

C 780-
Amy Davies Beach League Coordinator   

Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Leagues
May-August (Only)


Play Sports Alberta Coordinator (Edmonton)
Summer Camps (Multisport)
June-July (Only)

Calgary Office- Unit #6, 135 Commercial Drive, Calgary AB, T3Z 2A7 

Areas of Responsibility
Ian Halliday
Coach Development Manager
Coaching (NCCP & CBET)
Ray Sewell
Program Manager
15U & 16U Age Class, Beach Volleyball, Team AB Beach 
Diane Bugler
HP & Operations Director
Operations, Indoor Provincial Team/Elite Development, Inventory & Store 
High Performance Coordinator
Team Alberta Indoor
Marketing & Communications
Marketing, Media, & Sponsorship


Beach Tournament Coordinator 
May - August only 

Executive Director 

Name Location Areas of Responsibility Telephone Email
Terry Gagnon Red Deer Leadership, Finances, & Facility Development 587-273-1513

Volleyball Alberta Committees

Committee Committee Chair Email Address
Athlete Development Jeff Anderson
Business Development Michelle Whyte
High Performance Ken Briggs
Leadership Leigh Goldie
Awards and History  Dave Johnson

Are you interested in helping guide the future of volleyball in Alberta?  Do you have experience and skills to help develop programs, policy and governance for Volleyball Alberta? Volleyball Alberta is always looking for passionate people who want to help guide and build the future of volleyball in Alberta.

If you are interested or have experience in any of these areas please fill out the Committee member application form.

Committee Member Application Form Link: Online Fillable Form

Printable Committee Member Application Form


Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors (2017-2018)

President Leigh Goldie
Vice-President Ken Briggs
Secretary/Treasurer Dave Johnson
Director at Large Jeff Anderson
Director at Large Michelle Whyte
Officials' Representative Jim Merrick 
Officials' Representative Stephanie Shostak
Director Jonathan Goldie
Director  Bruce Edwards
Director Raynell Prince
Director Travis Rott
Director Aaron Heinemann