# 2008 Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame Awards

Category: Team

**Inductee: FOG Senior Men's** 

The Fog senior men's team was formed in 1986 with the goal of winning the Canadian Open National Championship. It took them 11 years to win their first in 1997 but following that the flood gates opened as they went on to win a string of six national titles in seven years: 2000-2002 and 2004-2006 for a total of seven wins over a ten year time span.

Fog became the team of the 2000's. The previous powerhouse team of the 90's was Canuck Stuff, who are already enshrined in the Hall. The teams never met when Fog won its first National championship in 1997 as Canuck did not attend. The torch was officially passed in 2000 when the two teams locked horns in the semifinals in Saskatoon and Fog came from behind to win in three sets on a Billy Byma hit off of a Jeremy Wilcox set. Fog never looked back after that.

The characteristic of the Fog came to be that they started slowly, often finishing third or fourth in their pools and just squeaking into the playoffs. But that all changed once the playoffs started and the team buckled down to face the increased pressure and challenge that comes when you're trying to win a National Championship. The Fog refused to settle for silver, winning every national final that they played in.

The players that were part of this special team were:

## 1997

Doug Anton, Darcy Dueck, Adrian Fairey, Reid Henry, Dale Johns, Dean Kakoschke, Clayton Miles, Sean Morrison, Michael Schipper, Mike Sieben, George Tokarsky, Talbot Walton

### 2000

Dave Bennell, Nathan Bennett, Bill Byma, Clayton Miles, Sean Morrison, Brian Pahl, Michael Schipper, David Sol, Jeremy Wilcox

### 2001

Doug Anton, Dave Bennell, Andy Cameron, Allan Coulter, Lee Czernick, Mark Ellingson, Clayton Miles, Sean Morrison, Brian Pahl, Michael Schipper, David Sol, Colin Stephenson

## 2002

Brad Bell, Dave Bennell, Nathan Bennett, Allan Coulter, Benj Heinrichs, Clayton Miles, Sean Morrison, Brian Pahl, Michael Schipper, Colin Stephenson

## 2004

Dave Bennell, Nathan Bennett, Leo Carroll, Brock Daviduck, Guy Davis, Bruce Edwards, Jeremy King, Alexei Myroniuk, Aaron Schulha, Jeff Shigamatsu, Anthony Skultecki, Dallas Soonias

### 2005

Dave Bennell, Nathan Bennett, Bruce Edwards, Jeremy King, Sean Morrison, Derek Proudfoot, Adam Sillery, Anthony Skultecki, Sam Watterson, Jeremy Wilcox, Adrian Wouts

### 2006

Dave Bennell, Bill Byma, Alex Gaumont Casias, Kevin Hatch, Joey Martins, Brock Pehar, Derek Proudfoot, David Sol, Jeremy Wilcox, Adrian Wouts

You can't recognize the FOG teams with out emphasizing enough the contribution that George Tokarsky has had on this group of athletes who have won so many National Championships. George is the guiding force and namesake of this club, organizing, recruiting and coaching all of these athletes to succeed at the highest level.