<u>'2009</u> Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame Awards

Category: Team

Andrew Reed

Peter (Andy) Shaw Chaim Schalk

Inductee: Red Deer College Kings (1999 – 2007)

The Red Deer College Kings Volleyball team dominated the Canadian collegiate volleyball scene between 1999 and 2007, winning a record setting 8 straight Canadian Colleges Athletic Conference (CCAA) National Championships. This astonishing streak entailed: an overall Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) record of 156-14 (including 2 undefeated seasons and 8 provincial championships), a non-conference record of 98-15, and a playoff record of 49-0. 6 times they were named the City of Red Deer Team of the Year. Twenty three Kings were named to their respective CCAA Championship All-Star team, 5 Kings were named as CCAA Championship MVP's (Gavin Schmidt, Joey Martins, Dallas Soonias, Brock Davidiuk, and Nicholas Cundy), and head coach Keith Hansen was named the CCAA coach of the year twice. The CCAA Male Athlete of the Year honors went to a Kings volleyball player four times in eight years; Nicholas Cundy in 2002, Brock Davidiuk in 2003, and Joey Martins in both 2005 and 2006; Making Joey the first ever repeat recipient.

The RDC Kings volleyball program not only holds the record for the most consecutive CCAA championships, they also hold the overall record for the most championship titles won by a single team with 10. The contributions of this special group of Kings Volleyball players are still being felt today as five members from the 1999-2007 teams are currently representing Canada on the National team. In fact, at one point the national team could have started an all RDC alumni squad with Brock Davidiuk setting, Dallas Soonias on Right side, Gavin Schmitt and Murray Grapentine in the middle and Nicholas Cundy and Mark Dodds at power.

Over the eight years of eight National titles not a single one was won in Red Deer and many times the team acted as spoiler beating the home town team in front of their fans. A feat this impressive could not be completed without some incredible coaching. Keith Hansen, a 2008 Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame inductee, coached 7 of the eight championship winning teams while Richard Schick coached one.

Congratulations to the Red Deer College Kings. Your accomplishments have clearly earned you a well deserve spot in the Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame.

rame.		
1999/2000 RDC Kings Roster	2000/2001 RDC Kings Roster	2001/2002 RDC Kings Roster
Curtis Anderson	Logan Tolsma	Nicholas Cundy
Brad Bell	Adam Sillery	Adam Sillery
Matt Bennett	Aaron Schulha	Robert Ellis
Kelly Cherniwchan	Paul Doef	Aaron Schulha
Kurtis Dykstra	Dale Hildebrandt	Evan Lodewyk
Michael Gustavsson	Darryl Magnusson	Sam Foon
Dale Hildebrandt	Sean Smith	Brock Davidiuk
Matthew Johnson	Brad Bell	Matt Keller
Chad Lemessurier	Terence McMullen	Curtis Anderson
Evan Lodewyk	Jason Siebenga	Terence McMullen
Darryl Magnusson	Jabon Schalk	Mark Tanigami
Terence Mcmullen	Matt Johnson	Mike Pfeifter
Sean Smith	Kurtis Dykstra	wirke i feittei
	Curtis Anderson	
Ryan Taylor Head Coach: Keith Hansen	Head Coach: Richard Schick	Head Coach: Keith Hansen
Head Coach: Keith Hallsen		
	Assistant Coaches:	Assistant Coaches:
	Trevor Pikkert Graeme Thain	Trevor Pikkert Lee Tipman
2002/2003 BDC Kings Boston	2002/2004 DDC Kings Destan	2004/2005 RDC Kings Roster
2002/2003 RDC Kings Roster Nicholas Cundy	2003/2004 RDC Kings Roster Matt Harris	Matthew Harris
2	Aaron Yasinski	Aaron Yasinski
Adam Sillery	Blake Henwood	
Robert Ellis		Blake Henwood
Aaron Schulha	Scott Weninger	Chaim Schalk
Marcel Beatch	Mark Dodds	Andrew Reed
Samuel Foon	Pav Kucharski	Peter Shaw
Brock Davidiuk	Marc Dickner	Graham Hetherington
Jordan Turner	Troy Jaggard	Jordan Turner
Seth Schalk	Adam Roth	Matt Anderson
Adam Roth	Craig Marshall	Scott Weninger
Blake Henwood	Mac Kucharski	Troy Jaggard
Craig Marshall	Dallas Soonias	Adam Roth
Mac Kucharski		Barrett Wenckowski
Dallas Soonias		Gilles Plouffe
		Tim Gourlay
		Joey Martins
		Pierre Rocque
Head Coach: Keith Hansen	Head Coach: Keith Hansen	Head Coach: Keith Hansen
Assistants: Trevor Pikkert,	Assistants: Trevor Pikkert,	Assistants: Trevor Pikkert, Bob Rutz
Kevin Tennant, Lee Tipman	Kevin Tennant	Kevin Tennant, Terence McMullen,
2005/2006 RDC Kings Roster	2006/2007 RDC Kings Roster	
Pierre Rocque	Pierre Rocque	
Aaron Yasinski	Andrew Tallas	
Kris Inglis	Gilles Plouffe	
Gilles Plouffe	Andrew Reed	

Andrew Tallas Jody teBulte Jason Waddell Kris Inglis Graham Hetherington Gavin Schmitt Cody Lockhart Spencer Leiske Doug Gilbertson Doug Gilbertson Tim Gourlay Tanner Nault Joey Martins James Sangster Colin Tajanar Head Coach: Keith Hansen Head Coach: Keith Hansen Assistant Coaches: Bob Rutz Assistants: Trevor Pikkert, Bob Rutz, Jeff Anderson, Adam Sillery

Peter Shaw Barrett Wenkowski

Jason Waddell

