Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame Awards

Category: Team

Inductee: NAVC Gold (18U Men)

The most successful volleyball program in Alberta to date, NAVC Gold (18U Men) is an Edmonton based team that plays under the Northern Alberta Volleyball Club banner. When the team was initially formed the members all had one goal in common - winning.

Even though the athletes changed over the years, the desire to excel was upheld; putting a winning team on the floor for every event from the Premier Series to the Provincial and National Championships. In a seven year span from 1995-2001, NAVC Gold was a perennial Provincial Champion and won six National titles.

The rosters from these teams are filled with athletes who moved on to play at various levels which include College, CIS, NCAA, Provincial Team, National Team, and professional volleyball around the world. Ryan Oswald, Nathan Bennett, Wes Montgomery, Eric Koenig, Brad Bell, and Brock Davidiuk are just a few athletes who were a major part of the success of NAVC Gold.

The other main ingredient that added to NAVC's achievements was excellent coaching. Dave Jones, Talbot Walton, Kris Geekie, Jeff Lerbekmo and Shawn Sky led these athletes by example, expecting nothing less than 100% commitment from the team. This instilled a strong work ethic and competitive drive, which became evident in their performance. They played cooperatively demonstrating the importance of cohesion and a solid team game.

NAVC Gold has had a tremendous impact on volleyball in Alberta by revolutionizing the club system that is currently enjoying a tremendous amount of success in Alberta. Today's clubs utilize the same formula for long term success - excellent coaching, talented athletes and a winning tradition. Canuck Stuff, FOG, Red Deer Kings & Queens, and the Wolves are just a few of the many Alberta clubs who have carried on this benchmark of excellence.

Representing NAVC Gold and accepting their Hall of Fame award this evening are members from the NAVC Gold 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, & 2001 National Championship teams – Corey Marshall, Dave Jones and Shawn Sky.