2004 Alberta Volleyball Hall of Fame Awards

Category: Team

Inductee: Older but Wiser

One of the earliest and most successful volleyball dynasties in Alberta, Older but Wiser was a team formed under the Calgary Volleyball Club banner in 1982. Al Taylor and John Paulsen put together a team comprised of former Olympians, National Team and University standouts from Calgary who all had one goal in common - winning.

Over the years the athletes changed but the one constant was a common desire to excel and put a winning team on the floor for every event from Super Volley to the Provincial and National Championships. In a ten year span, Older but Wiser were a constant as Alberta's Provincial Champions and a two time National Champion in 1983 and 1985.

The rosters from the National Championship teams are filled with the who's who of volleyball in Canada from the past 30 years. 1976 Olympians AI Taylor and John Paulsen, 1984 Olympians AI Coulter, Dave Jones and Tom Jones, 1992 Olympian Mark Albert and National Team and CIAU standouts Mark Kolojdie, Tim Loucks and Phil Bolden were all a major part of the success of Older but Wiser.

While Older but Wiser was focused on winning this didn't stop them from having fun in the process. This is a team that would beat you on the court during the day through their skill and sheer determination and continue well on through the night winning the tournament social in the process.

Calgary Volleyball Club and Older but Wiser have had a tremendous impact on volleyball in Alberta by starting the club system that is currently enjoying a tremendous amount of success in Alberta. Today's clubs utilize the same formula for long term success - excellent coaching, talented athletes and a winning tradition. Canuck Stuff, Fog, NAVC, and the Wolves are just a few of the many Alberta clubs who have carried on the tradition of excellence exemplified by CVC and Older but Wiser.

Representing Older but Wiser and accepting their Hall of Fame award this evening are team members from their 1983 and 1985 National Championship teams - Al Taylor, John Paulsen, Tim Loucks, Al Coulter and Dave Jones.