Alberta Winter Games

The Alberta Winter Games began as a government initiative for amateur sport, providing an opportunity for all Albertans to participate. The first Alberta Winter Games were held in Banff in 1976; since then, each of the Games has been hosted in different communities throughout the province. The Alberta Winter Games are hosted every two years.

Grande Prairie hosted the 2024 Alberta Winter Games. The information, teams, and results from those Games are available in the section below.

The 2026 Alberta Winter Games will take place in Lakeland County in February. For more information, visit the Alberta Sport website.

For more information on the Alberta Winter Games, please email Alex Donaghy:

Alberta Winter Games Zones

For the Alberta Games, the province is divided into eight zones and each zone is assigned a colour for identification during the games. 

Zone 1 – Sunny South (Grey)
Zone 2 – Big Country (Brown)
Zone 3 – Calgary (Red)
Zone 4 – Parkland (Orange)
Zone 5 – Black Gold/Yellowhead (Yellow)
Zone 6 – Edmonton (Green)
Zone 7 – North East (Navy Blue)
Zone 8 – Peace Country (Royal Blue)

Zone Tryout Information

All athletes must reside in the zone they wish to represent. To determine what zone you are eligible for, please review the Competition Structures and Zoning or the ASC Zones by Community list. Current provincial team members are NOT eligible.

Athletes interested in competing at the 2026 Alberta Winter Games will be required to participate in their respective zone tryouts in November/December 2025. Information on each of the zone tryouts, including how to register, will be posted in the fall of 2025.

The maximum team size shall be:
24 athletes per Zone (12 females and 12 males)
4 coaches or chaperones per Zone (2 females and 2 males) – At least one (1) coach/chaperone must be the same gender as the team

IMPORTANT: Alberta Winter Games (AWG) zone teams will not be used as a vehicle for recruitment by clubs or private agencies. NO recruiting may occur during the identification (invite), tryout, training and/or competition periods by anyone, including the zone coaching staff. Violations will be sanctioned by Volleyball Alberta as a breach of the Volleyball Alberta Code of Conduct and is grounds for immediate dismissal.

Tryout Registration Information

#1: Purchase a Membership.*

#2: Register for a tryout in your Zone.

#3: Register with the Alberta Winter Games.

*Prior to attending a tryout, athletes must have either a 2024 Youth Development Player – Tryout membership purchased through the link above OR a 2024 Youth Competitive Player – Indoor membership purchased in association with your club.

2024 Alberta Winter Games Information

Technical Package

Date: February 16-19, 2024
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Venue: Northwestern Polytechnic (10726 106 Ave, Grande Prairie, AB T8V4C4)
Age Group: 15U category (born between September 1, 2008 – December 31, 2010)

Registration Deadline: December 15, 2023
All Zone team athletes, who qualify to compete at the 2024 Alberta Winter Games (excluding coaches and chaperones), are required to pay an individual registration fee between $280 and $310. This fee is payable to Volleyball Alberta and must accompany the athlete’s registration form for the Provincial Games.

AWG 2024 Website:

Zone Head Coaches

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors

To top