New Leadership Team for Volleyball Alberta

New Leadership Team for Volleyball Alberta

The Volleyball Alberta (VA) Annual General Meeting was held virtually on Sunday, July 5, 2020.

We would like to thank the following individuals for their long-time service to the board:

  • Leigh Goldie for his 33 years on the Board of Directors – holding the President’s role since 2006.
  • Stephanie Shostak for her 12 years as the Volleyball Alberta Officials’ President.
  • Raynell Prince for her 6 years as a Director.

We would like to welcome Sonja Johnston & Will Anderson to the Board of Directors.

Sonja Johnston, VA Board Director                                                     Will Anderson, VA Board Director

Volleyball Alberta is proud to announce the appointment of two individuals to our leadership team.

President – Bruce Edwards

With 18 years as a Club President and coach in Alberta, 8 years of playing on the National team, and 6 years of professional volleyball, Bruce Edwards is a familiar face in the volleyball world.            Already contributing four years on VA Business Development Committee alongside two years on VA Board of Directors, he has now taken on an additional challenge as the President of Volleyball Alberta.

“I believe I can make a positive contribution to the Board and to volleyball throughout the province as well as help drive proper governance of the Association.”

Bruce is the Founder and President of Rally Pointe, received a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Calgary and has been a Certified Professional Accountant since 2014. He also contributes to the larger sport community as the Treasurer and Secretary for the Baseball Calgary Amateur Association.

Executive Director – Diane Bugler

With 12 years of service to our association, Diane is familiar with the unique challenges of almost every aspect of our organization. Starting with the Early Stages portfolio, she progressed to the Elite Development role prior to taking on the Director, High Performance & Operations role in the fall.

“I am excited to continue to work alongside our club directors, coaches, referees, and athletes as we strive to create a strong culture for the growth and development of volleyball in our province. Alongside my fellow board members & staff, we will support each other and help serve the greater Volleyball Alberta community.”

Growing up in Fort McMurray, the former Western Mustang athlete completed her BSc in Kinesiology with Biology. She has coached at the college and provincial team level in both Ontario (Canadore College) and Alberta (SAIT). Holding a Master of Science degree from the University of Calgary with an area of specialization in Sport Psychology, her research focused on group dynamics and the integral role they play in success. Added to her depth of knowledge, Diane completed an extension certificate in Nonprofit Management from Mount Royal University in 2018.

We trust that volleyball in Alberta will receive strong guidance from our board team and staff.

2020-2021 Board of Directors

President – Bruce Edwards
Vice-President – Ken Briggs
Secretary/Treasurer – Dave Johnson
Director at Large – Jeff Anderson
Director at Large – Michelle Whyte
Officials’ Representative – Jim Merrick
Officials’ Representative – Will Anderson
Director – Jon Goldie
Director – Travis Rott
Director – Sonja Johnston

We welcome Bruce Edwards as the President of Volleyball Alberta, Sonja Johnston & Will Anderson to the Board of Directors and Diane Bugler as the Executive Director.

We would also like to thank the outgoing Directors as we recognize their many years of service. We thank you for your 33 years of service Leigh Goldie, 12 years of service Stephanie Shostak and 6 years of service Raynell Prince.

Click HERE for the VA staff directory

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors

To top
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping