You are here

Contact Us

Professional Staff

The professional staff, in consultation with the Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors, conducts the affairs of the organization and deliver its programs and services to the membership and the volleyball community.

Our main contact line is for general information, registration, club and membership queries.

Phone: 780-415-1703 
Email: info@volleyballalberta.ca
Edmonton Office: 11759 Groat Road, Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6
Calgary Office: Unit #8, 135 Commercial Drive, Calgary AB, T3Z 2A7 

Diane Bugler
Executive Director

Email: dbugler@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 2

Calgary 

 

Jim Plakas
Director, Technical Pathways

Technical Advisor for all programs, Long Term Athlete Development, Club Accreditation & Recognition Program, Safe Sport, Team AB North

Email: jplakas@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 3

Edmonton 

 

Julie Noel
Office Administrator

General Info & Administration, Online Registration System (VRS), Financials & Payments, Facility Bookings, Social Media, Awards & History 

Email: info@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 1

Calgary 

 

Ray Sewell
Manager, Beach & Age Class

Beach Tournaments & Leagues, Team AB Beach, 15U/16U & 13U/14U Age Classes, Venue Coordinators - YYC, Sport Court Rental

Email: rsewell@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 5

Calgary 

Alex Donaghy
Manager, Age Class & High Performance

17U/18U Age Class, Indoor High Performance (Team AB Indoor), Beach Volleyball Support

Email: teamab@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 4

Calgary


 

Vinny Saporito
Coordinator, Courtside Logistics

Volleyball Alberta Referee financials, Referee Scheduling & Admin, Merchandise & VA Shop, Summer Camps

Email: courtside@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 6

Edmonton 

Amy Davies
Coordinator, GO Sports Programs

Main contact and on-site coordinator for the Edmonton GO Sports Programs - Fall 2021, October-December

Email: camps2@volleyballalberta.ca

Edmonton

Derek Hemsley
Manager, Age Class & Camps

On a leave of absence from Volleyball Alberta until May 2022.

 

Coordinator, Summer Camps

Summer Volleyball Camps
May-August 

Email: camps@volleyballalberta.ca

Edmonton

 


Coordinator, High Performance

Team Alberta Programs 
May-August

Email: teamab@volleyballalberta.ca

Calgary


Coordinator, Beach Programs - Edmonton

Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Programs
May-August

Email: beachleagues@volleyballalberta.ca

Edmonton


Coordinator, Beach Programs - Calgary

Calgary Youth & Adult Beach Programs & Beach Tournaments 
May-August

Email: rsewell@volleyballalberta.ca

Calgary

 

 

Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors 

Elected Directors – two year term 
Term
President Bruce Edwards president@volleyballalberta.ca  2020-2022
Vice-President Sonja Johnston vicepresident@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2023
Secretary/Treasurer Dave Johnson treasurer@volleyballalberta.ca 2020-2022
Director at Large Michelle Whyte director.at.large.north@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2023
Director at Large Jeff Anderson director.at.large.south@volleyballalberta.ca 2020-2022
Appointed Directors – one year term 
 
Referees' Representative Jim Merrick roc@volleyballalberta.ca  2021-2022
Referees' Representative Will Anderson va.referees@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Carolyn O'Dwyer director1@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director  Travis Rott director2@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Chad Leier director3@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director David Wildman director4@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Chantelle Lamotte director5@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022

Call for Nominations - VA Board of Directors 2021