You are here

Contact Us

Professional Staff

The professional staff, in consultation with the Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors, conducts the affairs of the organization and deliver its programs and services to the membership and the volleyball community.

Our main contact line is for general information, registration, club and membership queries.

Phone: 780-415-1703 
Email: info@volleyballalberta.ca
Edmonton Office: 11759 Groat Road, Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6
Calgary Office: Unit #8, 135 Commercial Drive, Calgary AB, T3Z 2A7 

Diane Clarke
Executive Director

Email: executive@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 2

Calgary 

 

Jim Plakas
Director, Technical Pathways

Technical Advisor for all programs, Long Term Athlete Development, Club Accreditation & Recognition Program, Safe Sport, Team AB North

Email: jplakas@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 3

Edmonton 

Derek Hemsley
Manager, High Performance and Leadership

Indoor High Performance (Team AB Indoor)

 

Email: dhemsley@volleyballalberta.ca 
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 8

Edmonton

 

Ray Sewell
Manager, Age Class & Beach 

15U/16U Age Classes, Beach Tournaments & Leagues, Beach High Performance (Team AB Beach),  Venue Coordinators - YYC, Sport Court Rental

Email: rsewell@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 5

Calgary 

Alex Donaghy
Manager, Age Class, High Performance, Store

12U/17U/18U Age Classes, Indoor High Performance (Team AB Indoor), Beach Volleyball Support, Merchandise & VA Shop, Facility Bookings

Email: teamab@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 4

Calgary

 

Hamed Sepehr 
Manager - Age Class & Events

13U/14U Indoor Age Classes, Social Media & Communications, Beach & Outdoor Programs, Alberta Winter Games Programs

Email: eventsmanager@volleyballalberta.ca

Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 10

Edmonton

 

 

Mike Ling 
Manager, Coaching & Early Stages

Coach Development, GO Sports Programs

Email: coaching@volleyballalberta.ca 

Phone: 780.415.1703   Ext:7

Edmonton


 

Vinny Saporito
Coordinator, Courtside Logistics

Volleyball Alberta Referee Financials, Referee Club Scheduling, Summer Camps

Email: courtside@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 6

Edmonton 

Julie Noel
Coordinator, Membership Services

Member services, Volleyball Registration System (VRS), liaison with bookkeeper, social media, volleywire newsletter, key supporting roles include website, board meeting arrangements, awards & history, casino chair   

Email: info@volleyballalberta.ca
Telephone: 780-415-1703 ext. 1

Calgary 

 

 

Open
Coordinator, Summer Camps

Summer Volleyball Camps

May-August 

Email: camps@volleyballalberta.ca 

Sept-Apr, please email full-time staff: Vinny Saporito, courtside@volleyballalberta.ca   

Edmonton

 


Open
Coordinator, High Performance

Team Alberta Volleyball Programs 

May-August 

Email: hp@volleyballalberta.ca 

Sept-Apr, please email full-time staff: Derek Hemsley, teamab@volleyballalberta.ca 

Edmonton


Open
Coordinator, Beach Programs - Edmonton

Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Programs

May-August

Email: beachleagues@volleyballalberta.ca

Sept-Apr, please email full-time staff: Jim Plakas, jplakas@volleyballalberta.ca   

Edmonton

Open
Coordinator, Beach Programs - Calgary

Calgary Youth & Adult Beach Programs & Beach Tournaments 

May-August

Email: beach@volleyballalberta.ca

Sept-Apr, please email full-time staff: Ray Sewell, rsewell@volleyballalberta.ca 

Calgary

 

 

Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors 

Elected Directors – two year term 
Term
President Bruce Edwards president@volleyballalberta.ca  2020-2022
Vice-President Sonja Johnston vicepresident@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2023
Secretary/Treasurer Dave Johnson treasurer@volleyballalberta.ca 2020-2022
Director at Large Michelle Whyte director.at.large.north@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2023
Director at Large Jeff Anderson director.at.large.south@volleyballalberta.ca 2020-2022
Appointed Directors – one year term 
 
Referees' Representative Katyryna Gaudet rrc@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Referees' Representative Will Anderson va.referees@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Carolyn O'Dwyer director1@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director  Travis Rott director2@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Chad Leier director3@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director David Wildman director4@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022
Director Chantelle Lamotte director5@volleyballalberta.ca 2021-2022

Call for Nominations - VA Board of Directors 2021