You are here

Contact Us

Professional Staff

The professional staff, in consultation with the Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors, conducts the affairs of the organization and deliver its programs and services to the membership and the volleyball community.

Our main contact line is for general information, registration, club and membership queries.
Phone: 780.415.1703 ext. 1


Executive Director 

Terry Gagnon
Executive Director

Leadership, Finances, Human Resources & Facility Development, Business Development Committee

Telephone: 587-273-1513

Edmonton Office- 11759 Groat Road, Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6

(Fax: 780-415-1700, email:

Julie Noel
Office Administrator

General Info & Administration, Member & Club Assistance (insurance, letters of good standing), Facility Bookings, Financials & payments, Online Registration (VRS), Awards & History Committee

Telephone: 780-415-1703 Ext. 1

Jim Plakas
Director, Technical Pathways

Technical Advisor for all programs, Long Term Athlete Development, Club Accreditation & Recognition Program, Safe Sport, Team AB North

Telephone: 780-415-1703 Ext. 2

Greg Ryan
Manager, Referees

Referees (Administration, Development, Recruitment & Retention), AB Summer & Winter Games, Leadership Committee

Telephone: 780-781-6868

Derek Hemsley
Manager, Age Class & Camps

13U/14U Age Class, 17U/18U Age Class, Summer Camps, Online Registration (VRS), Athlete Development Committee

Telephone: 780-415-1703 Ext. 4

Kiruthika Rathanaswami
Manager, Early Stages & Communications

Early Stages Programs (Mini, Atomic, Saville GO Sports/Multi-sport camps), School & Community Clinics, Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Leagues, Content Marketing, Venue Coordinators - YEG, Athlete Development Committee

Telephone: 780-415-1703 Ext. 5


Coordinator, JVC & SLVC
Jasper Volleyball Camp & Sylvan Lake Volleyball Camp

Telephone: 780-415-1730


Beach League Coordinator
Edmonton Youth & Adult Beach Leagues



Coordinator, Play Sports Alberta
Summer Camps (Multisport)


Calgary Office- Unit #6, 135 Commercial Drive, Calgary AB, T3Z 2A7 


Diane Bugler
Director, High Performance & Operations

Operations, Publications, Indoor Provincial Team/Elite Development, Inventory & Store, High Performance Committee

Telephone: 403-202-6540

Ian Halliday
Manager, Coach Development

NCCP, Women in Coaching Initiatives, Respect in Sport, Coach Development & Mentorship Programs (Indoor, Beach, Para), Leadership Committee

Telephone: 403-727-3705

Ray Sewell
Manager, Beach & Age Class

Beach Tournaments & Leagues, Team AB Beach, 15U & 16U Age Class, Venue Coordinators - YYC, Beach Committee

Telephone: 403-202-6541


Coordinator, High Performance



Coordinator, Beach Tournaments



Volleyball Alberta Committees

Committee Committee Chair Email Address
Athlete Development Jeff Anderson
Beach Committee Raynell Prince
Business Development Michelle Whyte
High Performance Ken Briggs
Leadership Leigh Goldie
Awards and History  Dave Johnson

Are you interested in helping guide the future of volleyball in Alberta?  Do you have experience and skills to help develop programs, policy and governance for Volleyball Alberta? Volleyball Alberta is always looking for passionate people who want to help guide and build the future of volleyball in Alberta.

If you are interested or have experience in any of these areas please fill out the Committee member application form.

Committee Member Application Form Link: Online Fillable Form

Printable Committee Member Application Form


Volleyball Alberta Board of Directors (2019-2020)

President Leigh Goldie
Vice-President Ken Briggs
Secretary/Treasurer Dave Johnson
Director at Large Jeff Anderson
Director at Large Michelle Whyte
Officials' Representative Jim Merrick 
Officials' Representative Stephanie Shostak
Director Jonathan Goldie
Director  Bruce Edwards
Director Raynell Prince
Director Travis Rott
Director Open  Open