Volleyball Alberta’s Hall of Fame was officially opened with the first inductions on June 12th, 2004 at the 2004 Awards Banquet in Edmonton. 

The Hall of Fame awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding achievements in Volleyball Alberta. The awards are presented in the following 5 categories: Athlete, Team, Coach, Referee, and Builder. 

Nomination package 

Hall of Fame – Call for Nominations & Selection Criteria

Submit a nomination: Volleyball Alberta Hall of Fame Nomination Form 

Nomination packages must be received by April 1st.

The 2024 Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 22, 2024 in Red Deer.

Volleyball Alberta Hall of Fame 

All Volleyball Alberta Hall of Famers are eligible to receive one complimentary banquet ticket. Additional banquet tickets may be purchased by contacting the Volleyball Alberta Office. We would like to have as many Hall of Famers as possible attend to make our Awards Banquet events a Grand Reunion and help celebrate the new inductees, as well as recognize the yearly award winners. Hall of Famers, please RSVP to confirm your attendance by contacting Julie at info@volleyballalberta.ca  or call  780-415-1703 ext 1. 

2024 Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 22, 2024 in Red Deer
Blair Bann
Laurie Eisler
Leigh Goldie
2023 Hall of Fame Inductee
RefereeDebbie JacksonBiographyVignette
2022 Hall of Fame Inductee 
 Postponed to next year postponed  
2021 Hall of Fame Inductee 
 Awards Banquet – cancelled   pandemic year 
2020 Hall of Fame Inductee 
 Awards Banquet – cancelled  pandemic year 
2019 Hall of Fame Inductee
CoachRon ThomsonBiographyPhoto
2018 Hall of Fame Inductees 
AthleteKatrina von SassBiography Vignette
BuilderBruce EdwardsBiography Vignette
2017 Hall of Fame Inductees 
AthleteSuzi Cooke (nee Suzette Smith)Biography
BuilderWes King-HunterBiography
2016 Hall of Fame Inductees 
AthleteTracy MillsBiography
2015 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteBonnie MacRae-Kilb Biography
AthleteMurray GrapentineBiography
2014 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteJohn Paulsen Biography
TeamFOG Masters WomenBiography
CoachGreg RyanBiography
2013 Hall of Fame Inductees
Builder         Jan PattersonBiography
2012 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteChristy Hansen (nee: Torgerson)Biography 
BuilderBob GabruckBiography 
CoachDave JohnsonBiography 
RefereeHarold MoriBiography 
2011 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteJenny CartmellBiography 
BuilderDave & Doreen RossBiography 
2010 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteKevin BoylesBiography 
TeamMount Royal College Cougars Men (1991-99)Biography 
BuilderDon SaxtonBiography 
RefereeGlen McKayBiography 
2009 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteKent GrevesBiography 
TeamRed Deer Kings (1999-2007)Biography 
CoachHoward RasmussenBiography 
BuilderGeorge TokarskyBiography 
RefereeMarilyn BrattonBiography 
2008 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteRandy GingeraBiography
TeamFOG Senior MenBiography
CoachKeith HansenBiography
BuilderAl JamesBiography
2007 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteErrol MillerBiography 
TeamRed Deer Queens (1982-89)Biography 
CoachCalvin AubinBiography 
BuilderMyrna EmpeyBiography 
RefereeLynda WardBiography
2006 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteKathy ToughBiography
TeamCanuck Stuff Senior Men (1991-98)Biography
CoachLance AdamsonBiography
BuilderJohn Pierre BaudinBiography
RefereeBasil BarnesBiography
2005 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteTerry DanylukBiography
TeamNAVC Gold (18U Men, 1995-2001)Biography
CoachCor OuwerkerkBiography
BuilderBob BrattonBiography
RefereeLarry LerbekmoBiography
2004 Hall of Fame Inductees
AthleteBarb BroenBiography
AthleteAl TaylorBiography
TeamUniversity of Alberta Pandas (1994-2000)Biography
TeamOlder but WiserBiography
CoachLorne SawulaBiography
CoachBrian WatsonBiography
BuilderHugh HoylesBiography
BuilderTheresa MaxwellBiography
RefereeBill WardBiography


Contact: Julie Noel
Coordinator, Membership Services


Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors

To top