Alberta Athletes Named to Volleyball Canada’s National Teams

Volleyball Alberta is proud to recognize those Alberta athletes recently named to one of Volleyball Canada’s 2019 National Teams.  This promises to be another busy summer for our national team athletes as the Canadian teams will be working towards qualifying for the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.  Congratulations to all athletes representing Canada this summer and good luck!

For the complete lists of Volleyball Canada’s National Team athletes, please click on the following respective link:

Indoor – Women
Indoor – Women NextGen
Indoor – Youth Women
Indoor – Men
Indoor – Junior Men
Indoor – Youth Men
Beach – Men & Women
Sitting – Men & Women

Indoor Women

Alexa Gray, Calgary, AB
Jessie Niles, Turner Valley, AB
Kristen Moncks, Standard, AB
Danielle Smith, Beaverlodge, AB

The first competition for the Women’s Senior National Team will be the Challenge Cup – a continental pre-qualifier for Volleyball Nations League to be held in Chateauguay, QC, May 31 to June 2.  The women’s national team will also compete in the Pan American Games in Peru this summer, and the Women’s Olympic Qualifier in Russia, August 2-4. 2019

Indoor Women – NextGen

Kory White, Edmonton, AB
Natasha Calkins, Calgary, AB
Hilary Howe, Calgary, AB
Lauren Sproule, Lethbridge, AB
Dholi Thokbuom, Calgary, AB
Parker Austin, Edmonton, AB

Youth Women

Kendra Kern, Edmonton, AB
Kaylee Plouffe, Sherwood Park, AB

Indoor Men (Volleyball Nations League Long List Roster)

Jay Blankenau, Sherwood Park, AB
Lucas VanBerkel, Edmonton, AB
Jeremy Davies, Calgary, AB
Graham Vigrass, Calgary, AB
Blair Bann, Edmonton, AB
Brett Walsh, Calgary, AB
Mathias Elser, Calgary, AB

The Senior Men’s National Team will once again be playing in the FIVB Volleyball Nations League (VNL).  Canada kicks off their 2019 VNL in Argentina, May 31-June 2 and then will return to Canada from June 7-9 as they host Australia, Germany and Serbia in pool play action in Ottawa. 

Junior Men

Mathias Elser, Calgary, AB
Colm Guyn, Lethbridge, AB
Luis Lange, Calgary, AB
Matthew Neaves, Calgary, AB
Jesse Elser, Calgary, AB

The Junior Men’s National Team will be competing at the 2019 Men’s U21 World Championships in Manama, Bahrain from July 18-27.

Youth Men

Chris Byam, AB
James Vincett, AB
Grayden Wiebe, AB
Bryce Neuls, AB
Zach Christensen, AB

The Youth Men’s National Team will be competing at the USA HP Championships in Fort Lauderdale, Florida from July 18-22.


Ben Saxton (Calgary, AB)

Ben and his partner Grant O’Gorman (Toronto, ON) have earned a NORCECA berth for the 2019 FIVB Beach Volleyball Championships and will be representing Canada in Hamburg, Germany from June 28 – July 7.

Sitting Women

Heidi Peters, Neerlandia, AB
Sarah Melenka, Vegreville, AB
Jolan Wong, Vermillion, AB
Katelyn Wright, Edmonton, AB
Jennifer Oakes, Calgary, AB
Angelena Dolezar, St. Albert, AB
Amber Skyrpan, Wandering River, AB
Payden Olsen, Cardston, AB

Sitting Men

Doug Learoyd, Edmonton, AB
Austin Hinchey, Edmonton, AB
Jesse Ward, Calgary, AB
Mikael Bartholdy, Calgary, AB

Both the men’s and women’s sitting volleyball teams are training in preparation for the 2019 Parapan American Games August 23 to September 1 in Lima, Peru.

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors

To top
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping